ACGME Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education

David C. Leach Award

In an effort to honor the former Executive Director of the ACGME (1997 - 2007), David C. Leach, MD, and his contributions to resident education and well being, the ACGME created this award in 2008. This award is unique in that it acknowledges and honors residents, fellows, and resident/fellow teams and their contribution to graduate medical education.

open 2015 Award Recipients
Prathit A. Kulkarni, MD
Prathit A. Kulkarni, MD
Baylor College of Medicine
Lawrence Towns, NJ
Kenneth E. Remy, MD
Kenneth E. Remy, MD
Critical Care
The National Institutes of Health; Clinical Center
Bethesda, MD
open 2014 Awards Recipients
Brent Griffith, MD
Brent Griffith, MD
Diagnostic Radiology
Henry Ford Hospital
Detroit, MI
Nicholas Cohen, MD
Nicholas Cohen, MD
Family Medicine
University Hospitals Case Medical Center
Cleveland, OH
open 2013 Award Recipients
Maria Buheis, MD
Maria Buheis, MD
Allergy and Immunology
Baylor College of Medicine Texas Children’s Hospital
Houston, TX

Team Members:
Lenora Noroski, MD, MPH
Madhu Narra, MD
Evelyn Leechawengwongs, MD
Donald W. Buck II, MD
Plastic Surgery
Northwestern University
Chicago, IL
Tierney Lake, MD
Internal Medicine
University of Colorado
Aurora, CO
open 2012 Award Recipients
Daniel J. DeSalvo, MD
Daniel J. DeSalvo, MD
Children's National Medical Center
Washington, DC
open 2011 Award Recipients
Peter Fleischut, MD
New York Presbyterian Hospital (Cornell Campus)
New York, NY

Team Members:
Adam S. Evans, MD, MBA
William C. Nugent III, MD, MBA
Susan L. Faggiani, RN, BA, CPHQ
Gregory E. Kerr, MD, MBA
Eliot J. Lazar, MD, MBA
Richard S. Liebowitz, MD, MHS
Laura Forese, MD, MPH
Jason Itri, MD, PhD
Diagnostic Radiology
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA

Team Members:
Sriyesh Krishnan, MD
Christine Kang, MD, PhD
Diane Li, MD
Michael Abdulhadi, MD
Andrew Miller, MD
Emergency Medicine/Internal Medicine
SUNY Health Science Center at Brooklyn Brooklyn, NY
Rashid M. Rashid, MD, PhD
Co-founder, Morzak Research Initiative
University of Texas at Houston
Colleen Nugent, MD, MS
University at Buffalo
Buffalo, NY
Claudia Reardon, MD
University of Wisconsin
Madison, WI

Team Members:

Dean Krahn, MD, MS
Eric Heiligenstein, MD
Ken Loving, MD
Douglas Kirk, LCSW
Nicholas Stanek, MD
open 2010 Award Recipients
Omar Bhutta, MD
University of Washington
Seattle, WA
Jenny Han, MD
Internal Medicine
Henry Ford Hospital
Detroit, MI
Kyla Terhune, MD
General Surgery
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Nashville, TN
David Turner, MD
Duke University
Durham, NC
Christopher Young, MD
Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine University of Florida
Gainesville, FL